The WiO Young Oxfordshire Writers competition


The picture above is from a Welcome to WiO evening for the 25 competition winners (November 2017), at which we announced the five cash-prize winners:

Two prizes of £350 

Alexander Shickell – The Man

Sarah Jones – First

Three prizes of £100 

Coral Obelia Rose Dalitz – The place that grew me up  (poem)

Lindsey Cohick – One for Sorrow

Gabriel Schenk – Home

READ their prizewinning texts.


In addition …

25 competition winners (including the above five cash-prize winners) will receive two years’ honorary membership of WiO from January 2018.


With thanks to the judging panel

The panel consisted of: Philip Pullman (Honorary Chair), Lorna Fergusson (Co-ordinator), Frank Egerton, Cherry Mosteshar, Dennis Hamley.